Advisory Board

The Seabed Minerals Act 2009 provides for a Cook Islands Seabed Minerals Advisory Board (section 33).

The Advisory Board operates as the "official avenue for consultation between the Government and the community" on matters concerning the regulation and management of the seabed minerals in the Cook Islands.

On 1 March 2013, 6 members of the community were appointed to sit on the Advisory Board. These members are:

Pastor Tutai Pere, representing Aitutaki, Manihiki, Penrhyn, Ngaputoru as well as the Religious Advisory Council
Michael Henry representing Aitutaki
Teresa Manarangi-Trott (chair), representing Rarotonga and the Chamber of Commerce
Tupe Short Tairi Te Rangi Rangatira, representing the Koutu Nui
Makiuti Tongia, representing Rarotonga as a teacher and senior academic

A further 2 members were appointed to the Board on 8 March 2013:

Travel Tou Ariki, representing the House of Ariki
Willie John, representing the Northern Group islands

The Seabed Minerals Commissioner, Paul Lynch is the secretary.

The functions of the Board are to:

Provide recommendations to the Authority in connection with the management of the seabed mineral resources of the Cook Islands
Provide recommendations to the Authority on the grant, renewal, suspension and cancellation of titles and on the negotiation and conclusion of Seabed Mineral Agreements
  * - field is required
Subject *
Comments *


site maplegal information | login
evoSuite Tourism Marketing Software | Crafted with love by SquareCircle